2008 Resolution Five – Giving

Last year I set my first personal goal for the number of hours I volunteered my time for some charitable cause. I served refreshments at a charity golf event, helped raise tens of thousands of dollars from a charity bowling event, helped prepare food for the hungry, read books and did crafts projects with kids – the list goes on, but the point is I beat my goal of 100 hours, reaching a total of 108 when all was said and done in 2007.

Volunteering 100 hours is a nice first step. But what is 100 hours? In the span of a year, we have 8736 hours – 8760 in 2008 with it being a leap year! Surely I can do better than spending slightly more than 1% of my time helping those less fortunate than myself. In 2008, my goal is to bump that percentage up to 2% – 175 hours of volunteer work in my community.

Leave a Reply

